Solid performance from CS Cluster teams at Iligan City Computing Fair 2013

Student teams from AdDU Computer Studies Cluster posted solid performances at the recently concluded Iligan City Computing Fair.

In the Open Programming Competition, Ateneo teams took the top two places. Jake Randolph Muncada and Marielle emerged as the champions, while Justin Symon Mearns and Chanly Kaye Basa took 1st Runner Up. In the College Level Quiz Show, the team of Jose Martin Ipong and Justine Yu likewise took home the Champions trophy.

Other Ateneo participants to the ICCF2013 were Kurt Bacalso and Gelsy Juntilla (College Level Quiz Show) and Reinald Kim Amplayo and Jim Adrian Francinilla (Computer Hardware Servicing).

Two CS technopreneurship teams win in 2nd Startup Weekend Davao

Two Computer Studies cluster teams fielded in the 2nd Davao Startup Weekend have won 1st and 3rd place. Startup Weekend is a three-day event where budding technopreneurs gather to network and compete to come up with a winning business idea. Judges are international venture capitalists and startup veterans.

Our 1st place winners were Alex Eneco, Mynell Mariano, Jasper Adlawon, and Ichii Villaruz. Their business pitch was KeepUp, a events management application for social networks.

Our 3rd place winners were Hitesh Dhanwani, Nap Calub, Ray Saavedra, and Their business pitch was PLYM, an augmented reality application for social networks. (This team was actually sponsored by the host company Ingenuity owing to their performance during summer internship.

Our Winning Teams

2013 ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest
March Invitational Programming Contest

First Place (School Category): University of the Philippines-Diliman
Second Place (School Category): Ateneo de Manila University
Third Place (School Category):  Ateneo de Davao University
Fourth Place (School Category): Ateneo de Naga University
Fifth Place (School Category): De La Salle University-Manila

Best Team, Luzon (excluding NCR) : ADNU Xavier, Ateneo de Naga University, 6/10
Best Team, Visayas/Mindanao : Ateneo Blue Knights 1 , Ateneo de Davao University, 7/10
Best Team, NCR : Quiwarriors2, University of the Philippines-Diliman, 10/10

Blue Knights 1: coach-trainer Ms. Shiela M. Nisperos, team members: Reinald Kim Amplayo (BSIT-4), Dharyl Daniel Castaneda (BSCS-3), Jose Martin Ipong (BSCS-2)

Blue Knights 1 & 2: Felicia Rose Garcia (BSIT-4), Justine Yu (BSCS-2), Marc Oliver Lua (BSIT-4), Jose Martin Ipong (BSCS-2), Reinald Kim Amplayo (BSIT-4), Dharyl Daniel Castaneda (BSCS-3)